Arizona Physical Therapy Board Appeals | License Defense for an Arizona Physical Therapist
It’s always disappointing when a physical therapist receives an unfavorable decision from theArizona Physical Therapy Board (“APTB“). However,physical therapists in Arizona can benefit from understanding the process that goes along withArizona Physical Therapy Board appeals and hearings after a case is heard by the Board. If you are facing an unfavorable APTB outcome due to an offered disciplinary action, you can always appeal the decision and request an administrative hearing before the Office of Administrative Hearings.
Filing an Appeal after a Physical Therapy Board Meeting
The investigatory process and the appeal process work like this: Once the Board receives a complaint or self-report they will then initiate an investigation into the Arizona physical therapist license. The purpose of this investigation is to give the APTB evidence to make a decision on whether or not aphysical therapist should face disciplinary action. If thephysical therapist receives an unfavorable formal disciplinary decision, it is at this point, they can then file an appeal and request a hearing with the Arizona Office of Administrative Hearing. An Administrative Law Judge will then oversee the appeal and thechiropractor may need to attend a hearing. However, sometimes the investigation is automatically sent to hearing or an informal settlement conference can be held (if requested).
Arizona Administrative Appeal and Hearing
Anyphysical therapist licensee may request a legal appeal of Arizona Physical Therapy Board Discipline to an administrative law judge with the Arizona Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) which is located in Phoenix. In some instances, a case is sent automatically to OAH. The Arizona’s OAH hearing is conducted before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). The administrative process is not as formal as a trial, but is similar. Each party presents evidence using documents or sworn testimony. Each party also gives an opening and closing argument which should explain why the judge should rule one way or the other. Aphysical therapist’s attorney can cross examine witnesses and testify on his or her behalf. After it is completed, the ALJ reviews the transcripts, evidence and makes a recommendation. However, the Board makes the decision to either accept, reject or modify the ALJ’s decision. If an individuals feels there has been a mistake they can request a rehearing by appealing the decision.
Criminal Reporting Requirements for aPhysical Therapist
A.R.S. 32-3208 requires thatphysical therapist licensees and applicants for aphysical therapist license must report misdemeanor criminal charges involving conduct that may affect patient safety or a felony to theArizona Physical Therapy Board within 10 working days after the charge is filed. A working day would be considered Monday through Friday. Failure to report a reportable criminal charge within 10 business days is a violation of the Arizona statutes.
What Current and Past Crimes Must Be Reported?
Arizona Physical Therapy Board Criminal Reporting requirements hold that a felony must be reported within 10 days of being charged. The following types of misdemeanor or other criminal histories are crimes that have been determined by the Board to be reportable pursuant to A.RS § 32-3208:
- Assault and Related Offenses
- Theft and Related Offenses
- Fraud, Deceit and Related Offenses
- Abuse, Neglect, Exploitation of a Child or Vulnerable Adult and Related Offenses
- Sexual and Related Offenses
- Drug and/or Alcohol Related Offenses
- Arson and Related Offenses
- Animal Abuse, Cruelty and Related Offenses
Failure to report a reportable criminal charge within 10 business days is a violation of the Arizona Medical Practice Act and could result in disciplinary action which could result in Arizona Physical Therapy Board’s Probation.
DUI Criminal History
Physical therapists who contact our office frequently ask our attorney’s if state law allows aphysical therapist with a DUI crime or conviction to get a license with the Arizona StatePhysical Therapy Board? The short answer is yes. An ArizonaPhysical Therapist DUI will not necessarily prevent aphysical therapist from obtaining a license or a career in the health field. However, the Board (which handles all complaints) has a public policy (updated as of September 2020) on their website which covers the details of what circumstancesphysical therapists with a case that resulted in a felony DUI criminal conviction can get a license.
Physical Therapist License Criminal Consequences
This specific policy does not apply to criminal conduct involving misdemeanor DUI charges or convictions. Once aphysical therapist professional applies for a license to practice to the Arizona Physical Therapy Board, they need to disclose any felony DUI criminal court convictions (from previous years) on their application. Aphysical therapist must report a felony DUI no matter how much time or how many years have passed since the time of the conviction or case. The AZ Board may also ask about past DUI misdemeanor criminal charges or cases that resulted in a conviction. This is done to ensure aphysical therapist can perform safe patient care and can have safe direct contact with patients or other providers.
Disclosing a Criminal Record for a Professional Applicant
If aphysical therapist license applicant is not required to disclose a legal misdemeanor DUI, the AZ Board can still initiate an investigation based upon the results of a health care fingerprint background check. The Board will then contact the professional and initiate an investigation in their practice utilizing the law of the Arizona Physical Therapy Practice Act (current as of October 2020). This license investigation determines whether thephysical therapist is a danger to the public, has any medical or mental health problems and whether thephysical therapist has rehabilitated in the time since the criminal misdemeanor DUI or DUI charges occurred. Simply, the Board wants to know whether the applicant can provide safe nursing care with a past criminal case involving alcohol or substance abuse.
The attorney’s at Chelle Law assistphysical therapists with interpreting Board policy (which is generally on the Board website). Our attorney’s help the healthcare workers andphysical therapists with their application to show the Board the professional isn’t a danger to the health, safety and welfare of the public and is able to provide safe patient care.
AZ Physical Therapy Board Complaint
Who can file an Arizona Physical Therapy Board Complaint against a physical therapist? Patients, health care facilities, other professionals, among others. When the Arizona Physical Therapy Board receives a complaint, the Board initiates an investigation into the complaint (if the Board has jurisdiction and the Complaint isn’t dismissed). After this happens, the physical therapist receives notice and the board assigns an investigator to the case. Please note, having an attorney during this step can be crucial for physical therapists as they must submit a response, interview with the investigator while also possibly appearing at an Arizona Physical Therapy Board.
Responding to Practice Complaints and Investigations
After receiving an Arizona Physical Therapy Board Complaint or self-report, a physical therapist receives a notice from the Board requesting additional information as well as a response to allegations found in the complaint. From here, the Physical Therapy Board assigns an investigator to the complaint and they begin to collect evidence. The documents and evidence collected includes:
- Patient medical records
- Employment files from the physical therapist’s employer and business
- Criminal records
- Interviews of people associated with the Board Complaint (These interviewees can include the patient, medical director, colleagues, etc.)
Consultation with Chelle Law
If you’re interested in learning more about our Arizona Physical Therapy Board Attorney services and how to protect your license, set up a consultation with Chelle Law today.