Arizona Chiropractic Board Criminal Reporting
A.R.S. 32-3208 requires thatchiropractor licensees and applicants for achiropractor license must report misdemeanor criminal charges involving conduct that may affect patient safety or a felony to the Arizona Chiropractic Board within 10 working days after the charge is filed. A working day would be considered Monday through Friday.
Failure to report a reportable criminal charge within 10 business days is a violation of the Arizona Practice Act and could result inArizona Chiropractic Board Probation.
What Current and Past Crimes Must Be Reported?
A felony must be reported within 10 days of being charged. The following types of misdemeanor or other criminal histories are crimes that have been determined by the Board to be reportable pursuant to A.RS § 32-3208:
- Assault and Related Offenses
- Theft and Related Offenses
- Fraud, Deceit and Related Offenses
- Abuse, Neglect, Exploitation of a Child or Vulnerable Adult and Related Offenses
- Sexual and Related Offenses
- Drug and/or Alcohol Related Offenses
- Arson and Related Offenses
- Animal Abuse, Cruelty and Related Offenses
Failure to report a reportable criminal charge within 10 business days is a violation of the Arizona Practice Act and could result in disciplinary action which could result in Arizona Chiropractic Board Probation.
DUI Criminal History
Chiropractors who contact our office frequently ask our attorney’s if state law allows achiropractic professional with a DUI crime or conviction to get a license with the Arizona Chiropractic Board? The short answer is yes. An ArizonaChiropractor DUI will not necessarily prevent a chiropractor from obtaining a license or a career in the health field. However, the Board (which handles all complaints) has a public policy (updated as of September 2020) on their website which covers the details of what circumstanceschiropractic professionals with a case that resulted in a felony DUI criminal conviction can get a license.
Disclosing a Criminal Record for an Applicant
If a chiropractic license applicant is not required to disclose a legal misdemeanor DUI, the AZ Board can still initiate an investigation based upon the results of a health care fingerprint background check. The Board will then contact the chiropractor professional and initiate an investigation in their practice utilizing the law of the Arizona Practice Act (current as of October 2020). This license investigation determines whether thechiropractor is a danger to the public, has any medical or mental health problems and whether thechiropractor has rehabilitated in the time since the criminal misdemeanor DUI or DUI charges occurred. Simply, the Board wants to know whether the applicant can provide safe medical care with a past criminal case involving alcohol or substance abuse.
Criminal Record and Convictions
One question our attorneys are frequently asked is whether state law allows a chiropractic professional with a felony criminal background to get a license with theArizona Chiropractic Board? The short answer is, yes. An Arizona Felony forchiropractors will not necessarily prevent achiropractor from obtaining a license or a career in the medical field. However, the Board has a public policy on their website which covers the details of under what circumstances achiropractor with a case that resulted in a criminal sentence can get a license.
Criminal Charges forChiropractors with the Arizona Board
When a professional applies to theArizona Chiropractic Board, they must disclose a felony criminal court sentence (and other similar offenses) on their application. Achiropractor must self report a felony no matter how much time or how many years have passed since the conviction. After self-reporting occurs, the Board contacts thechiropractor and initiates an investigation utilizing the law of the AZ Practice Act. The investigation helps to determine whether the chiropractic professional is a danger to the public, has any medical or mental health problems and whether thechiropractor has rehabilitated in the time since the criminal incident occurred. Simply put, the Medical Board wants to know whether thechiropractic applicant can provide safe medical care.
Chiropractic Board Probation
When achiropractor faces Arizona Chiropractic Board Probation the probation is offered through a Consent Agreement. The Consent Agreement requires thechiropractor do certain things (drug testing, work supervision, counseling, continuing education). Or alternatively, refrain from doing things (using alcohol, prescribing schedule drugs, seeing certain patients, etc.). TheArizona Chiropractic Board can placechiropractors on probation through:
- Stipulated Rehabilitation Agreement
- Interim Practice Restriction
- Decree of Censure with Probation
- Letter of Reprimand with Probation
- Practice Limitation
Chiropractors who hold a license in Arizona can face disciplinary actions by theArizona Chiropractic Board for many different reasons. If the Chiropractic Board determines formal licensing action is necessary it will happen after the completion of an investigation. It’s the job of the Board to review any complaint alleging a violation of the Arizona Practice Act and Arizona law. Thus, at anArizona Chiropractic Board Meeting, the Board will vote to determine the outcome of each investigation, thus, a defense attorney may be needed. The Board can vote on a non-disciplinary outcome or vote to offer thechiropractor formal discipline.
Arizona Board Attorney
If you’re interested in learning more about our Arizona Chiropractic Board Attorney services and how to protect your license, set up a consultation with Chelle Law today.